Miroirs, No. 3: Une Barque sur l'Ocean [composer's transcription]

Miroirs, No. 3: Une Barque sur l'Ocean [composer's transcription]

By Maurice Ravel / arr. Clinton Nieweg and Nancy Bradburd Item: 36-A645301
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


A five-movement suite originally written by Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) for solo piano, MIROIRS ("Mirrors") was written between 1904 and 1905, with each movement dedicated to a fellow member of the French avant-garde artist group Les Apaches. Ravel later orchestrated both the third movement called "Une barque sur l'océan" ("A Boat on the Ocean" - dedicated to Paul Sordes) and the fourth movement named "Alborada del gracioso" ("The Jester's Aubade" - dedicated to Michel-Dimitri Calvocoressi) himself. Ernesto Halffter later orchestrated the fifth movement ("La vallée des cloches" - "The Valley of the Bells" - dedicated to Maurice Delage), as did Percy Grainger, while Felix Günther scored movement two ("Oiseaux tristes" - "Sad Birds" - dedicated to Ricardo Viñes). Orchestrations of movement one ("Noctuelles" - "Moths" - dedicated to Léon-Paul Fargue) are more recent. This edition of the composer's transcription of "Une barque sur l'océan" has been edited by Clinton Nieweg and Nancy Bradburd. Instrumentation: 3(2&3dPicc).2+EH.2+BCl.2: Timp.Perc(3): Harp(2).Clst: Str (9-8-7-6-5).

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Maurice Ravel
Arranged by: Clinton Nieweg, Nancy Bradburd
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A645301
UPC: 735816264598

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept