Magnolias Dripping with Molasses

Magnolias Dripping with Molasses

By Duke Ellington and Billy Strayhorn Jazz Ensemble Conductor Score & Parts Grade: 5 (Advanced / Difficult) Item: 00-44945
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The first movement of Ellington's masterpiece, "Deep South Suite" from 1946, begins with a slow introduction, followed by a build up to an exciting break for the trumpet section. Riffs and solos abound, trumpet, trombone, and clarinet are featured. The end is classic Ellington with a small "band within a band" and then a long crescendo to a final tutti chord.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Essentially Ellington: Jazz at Lincoln Center Library
Composed by: Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn
Ensemble: Jazz Ensemble
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Page Count: 70
Item Number: 00-44945
UPC: 038081510088

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept