MacDowell: Woodland Sketches, Opus 51

MacDowell: Woodland Sketches, Opus 51

By Edward MacDowell / ed. Willard A. Palmer Piano Book Level: Intermediate / Late Intermediate Item: 00-2278
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


This suite of tone poems has survived as MacDowell's best-known work. Included among the 10 pieces are the familiar miniatures, "To a Wild Rose" and "Will o' the Wisp." The last work of the set, "Told at Sunset" reiterates a considerable amount of thematic material from earlier works, making the suite very effective when performed in its entirety. The pieces are similar in difficulty to "Sea Pieces," Op. 55.

Sample Pages


Title Composer
A Deserted Farm [Op. 51, No. 8] Edward MacDowell (composer)
At an Old Trysting Place [Op. 51, No. 3] Edward MacDowell (composer)
By a Meadow Brook [Op. 51, No. 9] Edward MacDowell (composer)
From an Indian Lodge [Op. 51, No. 5] Edward MacDowell (composer)
From Uncle Remus [Op. 51, No. 7] Edward MacDowell (composer)
In Autumn [Op. 51, No. 4] Edward MacDowell (composer)
To a Water Lily [Op. 51, No. 6] Edward MacDowell (composer)
To a Wild Rose [Op. 51, No. 1] Edward MacDowell (composer)
Told at Sunset [Op. 51, No. 10] Edward MacDowell (composer)
Will o' the Wisp [Op. 51, No. 2] Edward MacDowell (composer)

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Edward MacDowell
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 32
Item Number: 00-2278
UPC: 038081021454

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept