Louis Armstrong -- A Jazz Master

By Louis Armstrong / transcr. Lee Castle Level: Intermediate / Advanced Item: 00-00120549

This item is no longer our publication


Product Details


Twenty of Louis Armstrong's most memorable solos transcribed by jazz trumpeter Lee Castle. At the end of each solo there are notes to the trumpet player on how to approach the preceding solos. Compositions included are: Butter and Egg Man * Come Back Sweet Papa * Gut Bucket Blues * Jazz Lips * Potato Head Blues * Struttin' with Some Barbecue * Heebie Jebees * Two Duces. Expertly transcribed by a trumpet player for trumpet players.


Title Composer
Butter and Egg Man Louis Armstrong (contributor); Percy Venable (contributor)
Come Back Sweet Papa Paul Barbarin (contributor); Luis C. Russell (contributor)
Cornet Chop Suey Louis Armstrong (contributor)
Gully Low Blues Louis Armstrong (contributor)
Gut Bucket Blues Louis Armstrong (contributor)
Heebie Jeebies Boyd Atkins (contributor)
Hotter Than That Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)
I'm Not Rough Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)
Irish Black Bottom Louis Armstrong (contributor); Percy Venable (contributor)
Jazz Lips Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)
Knee Drops Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)
Muggles Louis Armstrong (contributor)
My Monday Date Earl Hines (contributor)
Oriental Strut John A. St. Cyr (contributor)
Potato Head Blues Louis Armstrong (contributor)
Skit-Dat-De-Dat Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)
Struttin' with Some Barbecue Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)
Sunset Cafe Stomp Louis Armstrong (contributor); Percy Venable (contributor)
Tight Like This contributor: A. Curl
Two Deuces Lillian Hardin Armstrong (contributor)

Additional Information

Arranged by: Lee Castle
Instrument: Trumpet
Format: Book
Instrumentation: B-flat Trumpet
Page Count: 1
Item Number: 00-00120549
ISBN 10: 0-7935-3530-1
ISBN 13: 978-0-7935-3530-9
UPC: 654979998426

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept