Lohengrin: Act II; Sc, 4: Solemn Procession to the Cathedral (Feierlicher Zug zum Muenster)

Lohengrin: Act II; Sc, 4: Solemn Procession to the Cathedral (Feierlicher Zug zum Muenster)

By Richard Wagner Item: 36-A223502

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Finished in 1848 and premiered in 1950 in Weimar, Germany, Richard Wagner's (1813-1883) LOHENGRIN tells a story of a tragic medieval German romance in the Knight of the Swan tradition. Elsa, a princess in Brabant, is rescued and wedded by a knight in shining armor who insists on remaining nameless. While everyone is familiar with the famous wedding march from the opera (commonly referred to today as "Here Comes the Bride"), "Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral" or "Solemn Procession to the Cathedral" is the actual wedding march, with Elsa and a long train of ladies proceeding slowly and ascending the steps of the cathedral. Musically expressing Elsa's innocent yearning and growing expectation, the choir sings as the orchestra accompanies. Instrumentation: 3.2+EH.2+BCl.3: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set): Mx Chor (available separately).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Richard Wagner
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Chorus with Ensemble
Item Number: 36-A223502
UPC: 735816321338

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept