Little Suite, Op. 1/ F. 6

Little Suite, Op. 1/ F. 6

By Carl A. Nielsen Item: 36-A105902

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Originally intended as a string quintet, Carl Nielsen (1865-1931) reworked the piece for a larger ensemble at the suggestion of his teacher.  Composed when Nielsen was only 22 in 1988, he had it published as his Op. 1 due to it being his first success, despite having published other works previously. The three-movement suite was premiered by the Tivoli Orchestra in Copenhagen on September 8th, 1888, Balduin Dahl conducting and Nielsen himself in the 2nd violin section. The Little Suite remains one of the most widely performed Nielsen works today.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Carl A. Nielsen
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra (8-8-5-5-5 in set)
Item Number: 36-A105902
UPC: 660355033308

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept