Le Tombeau de Couperin

Le Tombeau de Couperin

By Maurice Ravel Item: 36-M225791
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The word "tombeau" is a musical term from the 17th century, meaning "a piece written as a memorial." Maurice Ravel (1875-1937) composed LE TOMBEAU DE COUPERIN as a six-movement suite (based on those of the Traditional Baroque suite) for solo piano, with each movement dedicated to the memory of a friend who had died fighting in World War I. The "Couperin" referred to in the title is François Couperin "the Great" (1668-1733), although Ravel's intentions were to pay homage to the sensibilities of the Baroque French keyboard suite in general, not one composer in general. Often light-hearted rather than sombre as one may suggest, Ravel responded, "The dead are sad enough, in their eternal silence." Movements: I. Prelude, II. Fugue, III. Forlane, IV. Rigaudon, V. Menuet, VI. Toccata.

Additional Information

Series: Master Piano Series
Composed by: Maurice Ravel
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Piano Solo
Item Number: 36-M225791
ISBN 10: 1-63887-260-0
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-260-3
UPC: 735816105204

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept