La Mer (1909 version)

La Mer (1909 version)

By Claude Debussy / arr. Clinton F. Nieweg Item: 36-A139301
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


La Mer was the second of Debussy’s three orchestral works in three sections. Although the composition of La Mer took him more than a year and a half, this was unusually quick progress by his standards. La Mer was premiered in Paris in October 1905 and was initially not well received. However, the work was performed in the US in 1907 and in Britain in 1908, and after its second performance in Paris, in 1908, it quickly became one of Debussy’s most admired and frequently performed orchestral works. This edition by Clinton F. Nieweg and Lawrence N. Halverson is based on the second published Durand edition of 1909 which included the composer’s revisions.

Additional Information

Composed by: Claude Debussy
Arranged by: Clinton F. Nieweg
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: 2+1, 2+1, 2, 3+1 - 4, 3+2, 3, 1, timp, perc, 2hp, str(glock or cel in mvt 2)
Item Number: 36-A139301
UPC: 746241248152

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept