La Gazza Ladra (The Thieving Magpie): Overture (German edition)

La Gazza Ladra (The Thieving Magpie): Overture (German edition)

By Gioachino Rossini / arr. Gustav Friedrich Kogel Item: 36-A193802
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The well-known Gioachino Rossini (1792-1868) opera La gazza ladra (The Thieving Magpie) tells the story of a young servant girl named Ninetta, who is sentenced to death for the theft of her employer's silver spoon. Unable to prove her innocence without betraying her father, she is saved from execution at the last minute upon the discovery that her pet magpie is the silver thief. It was based on a well-known true incident of a French servant girl who was not so lucky, only being exonerated by the discovery of the magpie after the sentence was carried out. This arrangement of the overture by Gustav Friedrich Kogel is sometimes referred to as the "German edition" and includes extra brass and music as compared to the original by Rossini. Instrumentation: 1+Picc.2.2.2: Timp.Perc(3): Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Gioachino Rossini
Arranged by: Gustav Friedrich Kogel
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A193802
UPC: 676737734961

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List