King Arthur

King Arthur
Scenes from a radio drama

By Benjamin Britten Brass Band Score & Parts Item: 12-0571572081
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


King Arthur was the first of 28 scores Benjamin Britten composed for radio between 1937 and 1947. It was an ambitious dramatization of King Arthur's life and times; part pageant, part play, part cantata; written by D.G. Bridson. This colorful suite incorporates the "Introduction," a dramatic "Wild Dance," some of the music underscoring the scenes for "Galahad and The Holy Grail," and two vivid battle scenes, ending with "The Final Battle" and "Apotheosis." King Arthur (scenes from a radio drama) for brass band should not be confused with a much longer orchestral suite, which Paul Hindmarsh devised from the same source in 1995.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition: Faber Brass Band Series
Composed by: Benjamin Britten
Ensemble: Brass Band
Format: Score
Item Number: 12-0571572081
ISBN 10: 0-571-57208-1
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-57208-3
UPC: 9780571572083

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept