Italian (Italianische) Serenade

Italian (Italianische) Serenade

By Hugo Wolf / arr. Lucas Drew Item: 36-A729790
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Written in 1887 by notable Leider composer Hugo Wolf (1860-1903), Italian Serenade was originally written for string quartet and named simply Serenade in G Major. In his ongoing attempt to set the works of poet Joseph Eichendorff to music, Wolf based this piece off of Eichendorff's novella Der Soldat I. By 1890, Wolf began referring to the work as Italian Serenade, perhaps in reference to a small orchestra that played an Italian serenade in Der Soldat I. Italian Serenade was first performed in Vienna in January of 1904, shortly after the composer's death. This edition is edited for string orchestra by notable bassist Lucas Drew. String count of 8-8-5-5-5 included in the set.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Hugo Wolf
Arranged by: Lucas Drew
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A729790
UPC: 735816304058

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept