By Gustav Holst / ed. Julian Lloyd Webber Cello & Piano Score & Part Item: 12-0571507107
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Invocation was composed in 1911 and first performed on May 2nd of that year in the Queen's Hall, London, by May Mukle with the New Symphony Orchestra conducted by Landon Ronald. The work received several performances with Piano accompaniment before 1914, but with the public success of The Planets, it became one of many works that Holst never had time to revise or publish.

A certain amount of editing of dynamics and phrasing has been necessary, and the Piano reduction has occasionally been slightly adjusted to match the orchestral accompaniment more closely.

The separate cello part has been edited by Julian Lloyd-Webber.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Gustav Holst
Instrument: Cello
Format: Score & Part
Instrumentation: Cello & Piano
Item Number: 12-0571507107
ISBN 10: 0-571-50710-7
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-50710-8
UPC: 9780571507108

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept