Ibert: Histoires

Ibert: Histoires

By Jacques Ibert / ed. Wesley Roberts Piano Book Level: Advanced Item: 00-44328
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Jacques Ibert's Histoires, a collection of 10 Impressionistic piano pieces, was written between 1912 and 1922. Most of the pieces were composed during Ibert's years in Rome at the French Academy, and many of the pieces were inspired by the sights seen during his travels to Spain, Italy, and Tunisia. These works are known for the vivid images they evoke and have found a permanent place in the teaching repertoire. The collection has been transcribed for various instruments, including piano duet (one piano, four hands). The complete set is approximately 23 minutes in duration. Titles: I (La meneuse de tortues d'or) * II (Le petit âne blanc) * III (Le vieux mendicant) * IV (A Giddy Girl) * V (Dans la maison triste) * VI (Le palais abandonné) * VII (Bajo la mesa) * VII (La cage de cristal) * IX (La marchande d'eau fraiche) * X (Le cortège de Balkis).

Dr. Wesley Roberts is Professor of Music at Campbellsville University, where he teaches courses in piano, organ, and musicology, and has been a member of the faculty since 1982. He has presented concerts as pianist and organist throughout the United States, in Europe, and in Asia. Roberts is co-author with Maurice Hinson of The Piano in Chamber Ensemble, 2nd Ed. and Guide to the Pianist's Repertoire, 4th Ed., and he is a past president of the Kentucky Music Teachers Association.

This edition is a winner of the 2017 Music Publishers Association Paul Revere Awards For Graphic Excellence.

Sample Pages



About This Edition
About the Composer
About the Histoires
Performance Suggestions
Order of Difficulty
Suggested Reading
Glossary of Terms Used in the Histoires
I La meneuse de tortues d'or
II Le petit âne blanc
III Le vieux mendicant
IV A Giddy Girl
V Dans la maison triste
VI Le palais abandonné
VII Bajo la mesa
VIII La cage de cristal
IX La marchande d'eau fraiche
X Le cortège de Balkis

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Jaques Ibert
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 40
Item Number: 00-44328
ISBN 10: 1-4706-2285-8
ISBN 13: 978-1-4706-2285-5
UPC: 038081499376

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept