Hungarian Dances Nos. 1, 3 and 10 [composer's orchestration]

Hungarian Dances Nos. 1, 3 and 10 [composer's orchestration]

By Johannes Brahms Item: 36-A134902
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Originally written for piano four hands in 1879, this set of 21 lively dance tunes, mostly on Hungarian themes, are among Johannes Brahms' most popular works today, and they were the most profitable for him in his own lifetime also.  In 1850, Brahms was introduced to “gypsy-style” music through Hungarian violinist Ede Reményi, including the csárdás “Bártfai emlék” (Memories of Bártfa) by Hungarian composer Béla Kéler, which became the basis for Hungarian Dance No. 5. Arranged for many different instruments and ensembles over the years, this orchestration of Nos. 1, 3, and 10 is the composer's original. Instrumentation: 2+Piccc.2.2.2: Timp.Perc(1-2): Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Johannes Brahms
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 2+1, 2, 2, 2 - 4, 2, 0, 0, timp, perc, str
Item Number: 36-A134902
UPC: 746241261311

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List