Holberg Suite, Op. 40 (Aus Holbergs Zeit)

Holberg Suite, Op. 40 (Aus Holbergs Zeit)

By Edvard Grieg Item: 36-A104202
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Subtitled "Suite in olden style," this five-movement suite was written to celebrate the 200th anniversary of the birth of Dano-Norwegian humanist playwright Ludvig Holberg. Each movement is based on 18th-century dance forms and styles, but written from an 19th-century perspective, serving as a harbinger of the neoclassicism movement to follow. Originally written for piano, Grieg arranged the work for string orchestra only a year after originally composed. While not as well-known as his incidental music from PEER GYNT, many consider this work to be of equal quality.

Additional Information

Series: Study Scores
Composed by: Edvard Grieg
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra
Item Number: 36-A104202
UPC: 679360640791

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept