Grosse Fuge (Great Fugue), Op. 133

Grosse Fuge (Great Fugue), Op. 133

By Ludwig van Beethoven / arr. Felix Von Weingartner Item: 36-A100802
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The GROSSE FUGE (Great Fugue) remains the most controversial work by Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827), with it considered incomprehensible by his contemporaries, though the critical opinion of the work began to rise steadily in the early 20th century to the point where is now considered by many to be Beethoven's greatest achievements, with Igor Stravinsky describing it as, "an absolutely contemporary piece of music that will be contemporary forever." Originally composed as the fourth movement of his QUARTET NO. 13 in Bb Major, Op. 130, the dismal reception led his publisher to request of Beethoven to rewrite the final movement so as to not impact sales of the larger work, something to which the usually stubborn composer surprisingly agreed. The single movement string quartet was then published as a standalone work, Op. 133. This arrangement by Felix von Weingartner for string orchestra was completed in 1933.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Ludwig van Beethoven
Arranged by: Felix Von Weingartner
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A100802
UPC: 735816288921

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept