Four Novelletten, Op. 52, No. 2 in C Major

Four Novelletten, Op. 52, No. 2 in C Major

By Samuel Coleridge-Taylor Item: 36-A725990
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Samuel Coleridge-Taylor's (1875-1912) FOUR NOVELLETTEN, Op. 52, is a brilliantly crafted set of four short movements for string orchestra, with optional tambourine and triangle. Its title possibly inspired by Robert Schumann's set of piano miniatures, NOVELLETTEN, Op. 21, Coleridge-Taylor wrote his 1903 work for strings, infusing romantic sentimentality with a coloristic exploration of the modern string orchestra. Despite his publisher's early lack of success with the work, it must certainly have been one of the composer's favorite works as he programmed the set repeatedly on concerts he conducted throughout his career. No. 2 in C Major contrasts two dance-like sections; one duple and one triple. Instrumentation in set: Perc(1 opt. player: Tambourine.Triangle): Str (8-8-5-5-5 in set). Each of the four movements from the suite are available separately from the publisher.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Samuel Coleridge-Taylor
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A725990
UPC: 735816155773

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept