For Children, Sz. 42: Ten Pieces

For Children, Sz. 42: Ten Pieces

By Bela Bartok / arr. Morton Gould Item: 36-A614590
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Béla Bartók's (1881-1945) "For Children," Sz. 42, was written from 1908-1908 as a cycle of short piano pieces. Comprised originally of 85 pieces in four volumes, each is based on either a Hungarian or Slovakian folk tune, and were written as student pieces that progress slightly in difficulty through the cycle. Bartók revised the set in 1945, removing six works for either being inaccurately transcribed or because he discovered they were not original folk tunes. Also substantially changing some of the harmonizations, the new cycle of 79 pieces were reissued in two volumes. Hungarian music educator and composer Leó Weiner (1885-1960) took ten of the pieces from the cycle and transcribed them for strings in 1952. A string count of 8-8-5-5-5 is included in the set, but an optional violin 3 is also included as a substitution for the viola.

Additional Information

Series: LudwigMasters
Composed by: Bela Bartok
Arranged by: Leo Weiner
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra (8-8-3/5-5-5) (Vn3 replaces Va ad lib)
Item Number: 36-A614590
UPC: 660355048197

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept