Fauré: Dolly Suite, Opus 56

Fauré: Dolly Suite, Opus 56
For One Piano, Four Hands

By Gabriel Fauré / ed. Gayle Kowalchyk and E. L. Lancaster Piano Duet (1 Piano, 4 Hands) Book Level: Late Intermediate Item: 00-22555
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The Dolly suite, a collection of six piano duets (for one piano, four hands), shows Fauré's wittier side while portraying the many scenes and moods of childhood. This suite got its name from its dedicatee, a friend's little girl who was so tiny at birth that she was nicknamed Dolly. This teaching/performance edition contains the suite is in its entirety and is based on the first edition published by Hamelle in 1897. Editors Gayle Kowalchyk and E. L. Lancaster have included expert fingering suggestions and hand redistributions for technical ease, and have realized essential ornamentation in footnotes. The primo and secondo parts are on separate pages with measure numbers in both parts for easy reference. Although featuring childhood themes, the piece is at the late intermediate to early advanced level. "Berceuse," "Kitty-Valse," "Le pas Espagnol," and "Mi-a-ou" are Federation Festivals 2016-2020 selections.

Sample Pages


Kitty-Valse (Kitty-Waltz)
Le Jardin de Dolly (The Garden of Dolly)
Le Pas Espagnol (The Spanish Dance Step)
Tendresse (Tenderness)

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Gabriel Fauré
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 52
Item Number: 00-22555
ISBN 10: 0-7390-3417-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-7390-3417-0
UPC: 038081226828

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept