By Hale Smith Grade: 5 Item: 36-B388602
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The title of this work was suggested by the spreading tone-clusters of the beginning. It also refers to the fact that rhythms, intervals, dynamics, and instrumentation are all subjected to various procedures of expansion and contraction. The entire piece is developed from the material presented in the first ten measures. From a non-technical point of view, the title seems also appropriate since the piece was conceived, not as an exercise in technique, but as a musical statement capable of involving the listener's emotions and imagination purely as a work of art.

Additional Information

Series: Ludwig Symphonic Band
Composed by: Hale Smith
Ensemble: Concert Band
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Concert Band
Item Number: 36-B388602
UPC: 753625270487

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept