Eternal Pine

Eternal Pine
for Gayageum and Korean Ensemble

By Wen-chung Chou Contemporary Small Ensemble Item: 98-EP68730

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Commissioned by the Contemporary Music Ensemble Korea (CMEK) for gayageum player Yi Jiyoung, Eternal Pine (2008) is dedicated to Dr. Lee Hye-ku, who taught Chou about Korean music, in honor of the scholar's 100th birthday. The pine of the title is a symbol of longevity and the eternity of nature.

The work is composed in six parts, totaling twenty minutes: "Prelude—Exploring the modes", "Meditation on Eternity", "Lofty Peaks", "Profound Gorges", "Allegro grazioso", and finally a brief "Codetta". Composed using Western notation, the score includes a full English glossary of the symbols used to indicate various playing techniques. The 18-string gayageum is accompanied by a quartet of changgu, daegeum, piri, and shaengwhang.

This product is Printed on Demand and may take several weeks to fulfill. Please order from your favorite retailer.

Additional Information

Series: Edition Peters
Composed by: Wen-chung Chou
Format: Part(s)
Page Count: 44
Item Number: 98-EP68730
ISBN 10: 0-30-076191-0
ISBN 13: 979-0-30-076191-6

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept