Eine kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade in G), K. 525 (critical edition)

Eine kleine Nachtmusik (Serenade in G), K. 525 (critical edition)

By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart / arr. Ernst Fritz Schmid Item: 36-A815802

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


EINE KLEINE NACHTMUSIK (A Little Night Music, Serenade No. 13 in G Major) was written in 1787 for string quintet, although it is frequently performed as a string orchestra work. Possibly composed originally with five movements (the Menuetto and Trio appears to be lost), the special title "Eine kleine Nachtmusik" was likely not given to the work by W.A. Mozart (1756-1791) as it derived from an entry in his personal catalog, almost certainly acting as a mere record of his having completed a little serenade. The work was not published until 1827 along with a bundle of Mozart's other works sold by his widow Constanze, and no record exists of a commission or performance in Mozart's lifetime that might clear up the intent for the title. Still, the serenade remains among Mozart's most popular and recognizable works. Movements: I. Allegro, II. Romanze, III. Menuetto, and IV. Rondo. This critical edition by internationally recognized Mozart expert Ernst Fritz Schmid was released as part of the Neue Mozart Ausgabe (New Mozart Edition) project. Strings in set: 4-4-3-3-3.

Additional Information

Series: Critical Editions
Composed by: Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
Arranged by: Ernst Fritz Schmid
Ensemble: String Orchestra
Format: Score and Parts
Instrumentation: String Orchestra (4-4-3-3-3 in set)
Item Number: 36-A815802
UPC: 735816334581

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List