Don Quixote

Don Quixote

By Richard Strauss Item: 36-M404391
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


From Janos Starker: DON QUIXOTE by Richard Strauss is based on Cervantes's saga of the adventures of the Don, and is one of our major cello works. When I first performed it with Fritz Reiner and the Chicago Symphony in 1955, the Maestro and I spent a year dwelling on the literary references to the score. He was also telling me the composer's requests as told to him when he was a young, budding conductor. Whether my recollections are factual is up for grabs. This edition reflects my understanding of the work and of Strauss's intentions, as honed by dozens of performances and recordings. This edition is part of the Starker Perfomance Editions series.

Additional Information

Series: Master String Series
Composed by: Richard Strauss
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Violoncello and Piano
Item Number: 36-M404391
UPC: 660355022302

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept