Dark Arteries Suite

Dark Arteries Suite
For Brass Band and Percussion

By Gavin Higgins Brass Band Score Item: 12-0571572359
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Dark Arteries was commissioned by Rambert Dance Company and first performed in May 2015 with the Tredegar Town Band sharing the stage with Rambert dancers. Dark Arteries is a personal and at times highly wrought response to the Miners' Strike and its aftermath. It is in three movements; the first and last are expansive, with widely contrasting sound worlds, from dark, brooding melodies and the haunting sounds of solo flugel horn to wild syncopations on cornets, suggestive of an imposing, but often bleak mining landscape. In 2016 Higgins re-worked Dark Arteries into a virtuosic concert suite, which captures the essence of the work in three connected movements.

Dark Arteries Suite was premiered by the National Youth Brass Band of Great Britain, conducted by Bramwell Tovey at the Barbican Centre, London, 22 April 2017. A3 score available on request.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition: Faber Brass Band Series
Composed by: Gavin Higgins
Ensemble: Brass Band
Format: Score
Instrumentation: Brass Band
Item Number: 12-0571572359
ISBN 10: 0-571-57235-9
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-57235-9
UPC: 9780571572359

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept