Daphnis et Chloe Suite No. 2

Daphnis et Chloe Suite No. 2

By Maurice Ravel / arr. Clinton Nieweg and Carol Westfall Item: 36-A675401
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Ravel's longest work at almost an hour, the complete one-act ballet Daphnis et Chloe was described by the composer as a "symphonie choregraphique" (choreographic symphony).  Ravel began the work, a romance about the Greek goatherd Daphnis and the shepherdess Chloe, upon receiving a 1909 commission from famed Russian ballet impresario Sergei Diaghilev, and the premiere in 1912 included Vaslav Nijinksky and Tamara Karsavina in the title roles.  Full of lush harmonies typical of the impressionist movement and musical leitmotifs, the work is considered among Ravel's most passionate and best compositions.  Ravel extracted the music from the ballet to make two orchestra suites, which can be performed with or without chorus, of which this Suite No. 2 is particularly popular.

Additional Information

Composed by: Maurice Ravel
Arranged by: Clinton Nieweg, Carol Westfall
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: 2d1+1+alto, 2+1, 2+1+Eb, 3+1 - 4, 4, 3, 1, timp, perc, 2hp, cel, str, mx chor
Item Number: 36-A675401
UPC: 679360670927

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept