Curlew River: A Parable for Church Performance, Opus 71

Curlew River: A Parable for Church Performance, Opus 71

By Benjamin Britten Choral Full Score Item: 12-0571507204
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Curlew River---A Parable for Church Performance (Op. 71) is the first of three Church Parables by Benjamin Britten. The work is based on the Japanese Noh play Sumidagawa (Sumida River) of Juro Motomasa (1395--1431), which Britten saw during a visit to Japan and the Far East in early 1956. Beyond the Noh source dramatic material, Britten incorporated elements of Noh treatment of theatrical time into this composition.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Benjamin Britten
Ensemble: Choir
Format: Full Score
Item Number: 12-0571507204
ISBN 10: 0-571-50720-4
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-50720-7
UPC: 9780571507207

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept