Concerto in E minor for Violoncello and Piano, Op. 85

Concerto in E minor for Violoncello and Piano, Op. 85

By Edward Elgar / arr. Janos Starker, Emilio Colon Item: 36-M370891
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The guiding principle of this edition by Janos Starker is to provide suggestions led by musical considerations based on the underlying rules of string playing. It is hoped that this edition will encourage experimentation and lead to more advanced executions of this work.  "Although this work is considered the private domain of British cellists, acquaintance with Elgar's output places it within range of all nationalities. My source was Sir John Baribirolli, the famed maestro who, as a cellist, was the second person to perform the CONCERTO, and a devoted friend of Elgar. He related to me Elgar's wishes in words and cellistic action. I try to follow what he told me." - Janos Starker.

Additional Information

Series: LudwigMasters
Composed by: Edward Elgar
Arranged by: Janos Starker, Emilio Colon
Instrument: Cello
Format: Book
Instrumentation: Violoncello and Piano
Item Number: 36-M370891
UPC: 746241220745

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept