Concerto Grosso, Op. 6, No. 8 in G minor: "Christmas Concerto"

Concerto Grosso, Op. 6, No. 8 in G minor: "Christmas Concerto"

By Arcangelo Corelli / arr. Waldemar Woehl Item: 36-S005701
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The present edition of Corelli's "Christmas" Concerto is based on the edition by Roger of Antwerp, printed in 1714. At that time, 12 Concerti Grossi - namely 8 Church Concerti (Concerti da Chiesa) and 4 Chamber Concerti (Concerti da Camera) were published posthumously in 1714 under opus number 6, having been commissioned by Cardinal Pietro Ottoboni. The Christmas Concerto is the eighth of this series, and was likely composed sometime around 1690. The concerto is scored for an ensemble of two concertino violins and a cello, plus the ripieno strings and continuo. The harpsichord or organ continuo was realized by Waldemar Woehl. It is structured as a concerto da chiesa, though it has been expanded from a typical four movement structure to six. Detailed Instrumentation: Vn Soli (2).Vc Solo: Str: Hpchd continuo.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Study Score Series
Composed by: Arcangelo Corelli
Arranged by: Waldemar Woehl
Format: Study Score
Instrumentation: String Orchestra, Solo Strings with Ensemble
Item Number: 36-S005701
ISBN 10: 1-63887-919-2
ISBN 13: 978-1-63887-919-0
UPC: 735816450861

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List