Concerto for Violin No. 4 in D minor, Op. 31

Concerto for Violin No. 4 in D minor, Op. 31

By Henri Vieuxtemps Item: 36-A222402
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Compared to Niccolò Paganini by friend Robert Schumann, Henri Vieuxtemps (1820-1881) was a well-known virtuoso violinist of  the Franco-Belgian violin school in the mid-19th century.  Aspiring towards becoming a composer also, most of his output was for the violin, and his seven violin concerti remain the reason he is generally known to audiences and musicians around the world still  today.  Though a virtuoso himself, his violin writing never indulged in sheer virtuosity for its own sake, and he quoted as having said, “Not runs for the sake of runs - sing, sing!”


His Concerto No. 4 in D minor, written around 1850 while serving in St. Petersburg for a period of five years as Czar Nicholas I's solo violinist, was Vieutemps favorite of the seven concerti.  A grandly imposing work in four movements, it shows the composer's ability to not only write exciting string music but also to invent melodies of sensuous warmth.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus
Composed by: Henry Vieuxtemps
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 2, 2, 2, 2 - 4, 2, 3, 0, timp,hp, str, solo violin
Item Number: 36-A222402

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List