Concerto for Violin No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61

Concerto for Violin No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61

By Camille Saint-Saëns / arr. Clinton Nieweg and Nancy Bradburd Item: 36-A197548
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The CONCERTO FOR VIOLIN No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61 was written in March of 1880, when Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) was 44 years old and at the peak of his output. Written for fellow composer and virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, the soloist initially deemed the work not virtuosic enough to satisfy audiences, although time and seeing the work win success for other soloists led to a revived enthusiasm and the concerto's inclusion in Sarasate's repertoire. Saint-Saëns places the dramatic and technical passages in the 1st and 3rd movements, while the 2nd movement is graceful and songlike. This concerto, along with the INTRODUCTION AND RONDO CAPRICCIOSO, Op. 28, and the HAVANAISE, Op. 83, remain the most popular works for violin and orchestra by Saint-Saëns. Instrumentation: 2(2dPicc).2.2.2: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set): Solo Violin. Edited by Clinton Nieweg and Nancy Bradburd.

Additional Information

Series: Nieweg Performance Editions
Composed by: Camille Saint-Saëns
Arranged by: Clinton Nieweg, Nancy Bradburd
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Solo Strings with Ensemble
Item Number: 36-A197548
UPC: 735816199579

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept