Concerto for Violin No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61

Concerto for Violin No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61

By Camille Saint-Saëns / arr. Nancy Bradburn, Clinton Nieweg Item: 36-A197501
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The CONCERTO FOR VIOLIN No. 3 in B minor, Op. 61 was written in March of 1880, when Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921) was 44 years old and at the peak of his output. Written for fellow composer and virtuoso Pablo de Sarasate, the soloist initially deemed the work not virtuosic enough to satisfy audiences, although time and seeing the work win success for other soloists led to a revived enthusiasm and the concerto's inclusion in Sarasate's repertoire. Saint-Saëns places the dramatic and technical passages in the 1st and 3rd movements, while the 2nd movement is graceful and songlike. This concerto, along with the INTRODUCTION AND RONDO CAPRICCIOSO, Op. 28, and the HAVANAISE, Op. 83, remain the most popular works for violin and orchestra by Saint-Saëns. Instrumentation: 2(2dPicc).2.2.2: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set): Solo Violin. Edited by Clinton Nieweg and Nancy Bradburd.

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Nieweg Performance Editions
Composed by: Camille Saint-Saëns, Nancy Bradburn, Clinton Nieweg
Format: Conductor Score
Instrumentation: 2d1, 2, 2, 2 - 2, 2, 3, 0, timp, str, solo violin
Item Number: 36-A197501
UPC: 660355024023

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.