Concerto for Piano No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

Concerto for Piano No. 1 in D minor, Op. 15

By Johannes Brahms / arr. Robert Sutherland, Clinton F. Nieweg Item: 36-A134548

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) composed his Piano Concerto No. 1 in 1858 and performed the work’s debut in Hanover, Germany, in 1859, to mixed reviews. The work initially began as a sonata for two pianos, then a four-movement symphony. Under the counsel of friends Julius Otto Grimm and violinist Joseph Joachim, Brahms landed on a three-movement piano concerto. After its fifth performance in December 1861, with Clara Schumann as piano soloist, the work still received mixed audience reception. It has since grown in popularity and has been recognized as a masterpiece. Instrumentation: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set): Solo Piano.

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Johannes Brahms
Arranged by: Clinton F. Nieweg, Robert Sutherland
Format: Solo Piano
Instrumentation: Timp: Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set): Solo Piano
Item Number: 36-A134548
UPC: 735816434267

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept