Children's Corner, Suite No. 2

Children's Corner, Suite No. 2

By Claude Debussy / arr. Andre Caplet, Hubert Mouton Item: 36-A713502

This item is temporarily out of stock


Product Details


Originally written in 1908 as a "Little Suite" for piano, CHILDREN'S CORNER was dedicated to Claude Debussy's (1862-1918) daughter, Claude-Emma: "To my beloved little Chouchou with the tender excuses of her father for what follows below." Captivated by his daughter's wonderment and fascination with various toys and dolls in her playroom, Debussy aimed to emulate both the experience of being young and the nostalgia of watching his daughter explore and play. Each movement was titled, in English, after one of Emma's toys. An immediate and enduring success, the work has been arranged a great many times for a variety of instruments and ensembles over the years, including an orchestration by Andre Caplet. This second suite for small orchestra by Hubert Mouton is based on the Caplet orchestration and includes the following three movements: 1. Jumbo's Lullaby, 2. The Snow is Dancing, 3. Doctor Gradus ad Parnassum. Instrumentation: Perc(1-2): Str (9-8-7-6-5).

Additional Information

Series: Edwin F. Kalmus - Kalmus Orchestra Library
Composed by: Claude Debussy
Arranged by: Andre Caplet, Hubert Mouton
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Full Orchestra, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-A713502
UPC: 735816427474

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept