Chamber Symphony No. 1 for 15 Solo Instruments, Opus 9

Chamber Symphony No. 1 for 15 Solo Instruments, Opus 9

By Arnold Schoenberg Full Orchestra Full Score Item: 06-419002
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


This piece is unusual in concentrating all the elements of a symphony into a single movement; in being written for 15 solo instruments; in using chords built up of fourths; and in creating dissonances without immediate resolution. To its first audiences, the symphony seemed shocking. But today it is one of Schoenberg's most pleasing and accessible works. Scored for a chamber ensemble of flute, oboe, English horn, two clarinets, bass clarinet, bassoon, contrabassoon, two horns, two violins, viola, cello, and bass. Instrumentation. Glossary. [8 3/8 x 11, 160 pp.]

Additional Information

Series: Dover Edition
Composed by: Arnold Schoenberg
Ensemble: Full Orchestra
Format: Full Score
Item Number: 06-419002
ISBN 10: 0-486-41900-2
ISBN 13: 978-0-486-41900-8
UPC: 9780486419008

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept