By Thomas Adès Chamber Quartet Score & Parts Item: 12-0571518974
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Composer's note:

Catch structures itself around various combinations of the four instruments (piano, cello, violin and clarinet). There are several games going on: at the start, the clarinet is the outsider, the other three are the unit, then, after a decoy entry, the clarinet takes the initiative. All four then play jovial 'pig-in-the-middle' with each other. The clarinet is then phased out leaving a sullen piano and cello, with interjections based on the clarinet's original tune. This slower passage gradually mutates back into fast music, and this time the game is in earnest: the piano is squeezed out, only to lure the clarinet finally into the snare of its own music.

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Thomas Adès
Ensemble: Chamber Quartet
Format: Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Clarinet, Violin, Cello & Piano
Item Number: 12-0571518974
ISBN 10: 0-571-51897-4
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-51897-5
UPC: 9780571518974

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept