Carmen Suite No. 1

Carmen Suite No. 1

By Georges Bizet / arr. Ernest Guiraud Item: 36-A118702

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Ernest Guiraud (1837-1892) was a colleague and good friend of Bizet's. After Bizet's death, he composed the recitatives still commonly used in Carmen. Between 1880 and 1882, he compiled two orchestral suites from this opera, each in five movements, for Choudens, Bizet's publisher. The first of these two suites included the Prelude, Aragonaise, Intermezzo, Les Dragons d 'Alcala and a Final (Les Toreadors). In this first suite, Guiraud stayed fairly close to Bizet's original orchestration. The present edition seeks to be even more faithful to Bizet's scoring. Around 1906, the German composer-conductor Fritz Hoffmann (1873-19xx) arranged the Séguidille for orchestra, for inclusion in a publication of the Suite by a German publisher. This arrangement has also been included in this suite.

Additional Information

Composed by: Georges Bizet
Arranged by: Ernest Guiraud
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: 2d1, 2d1, 2, 2 - 4, 2, 3, 0, timp, perc, hp, str
Item Number: 36-A118702
UPC: 679360645529

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept