Carl Davis: Maestro

Carl Davis: Maestro

[Carl Davis] By Wendy Thompson Book Item: 12-0571539580
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


How do you bring a forgotten silent film back to life? What are the techniques behind writing a successful film score? How do you work with and inspire choreographers? Carl Davis's fascinating story gives an insight into the prolific composing and conducting career of one of the world's most celebrated film and television composers. Born in New York, Carl Davis spent his early years of his career in American before going on to study in Copenhagen. From there he moved to Britain and entered the worlds of classical music, theatre, film and television. He has since composed almost 400 film and TV scores, winning several BAFTAs and Ivor Novello awards, as well as establishing himself as the number one choice to score silent films.Some of his most recognisable work includes the soundtracks for The French Lieutenant's Woman (BAFTA/Ivor Novello Winner), Pride and Prejudice (1995 TV Series), Scandal (1989) and Cranford. Written by Wendy Thompson, Carl Davis: Maestro is a glimpse into the life of a consummate all-round musician and his impact on many spheres of music-making.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Faber Edition
Composed by: Carl Davis
Author: Wendy Thompson
Format: Book
Item Number: 12-0571539580
ISBN 10: 0-571-53958-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-571-53958-1
UPC: 9780571539581

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept