Cantata No. 131: Aus der Tiefen rufe ich, Herr, zu dir, BWV 131

Cantata No. 131: Aus der Tiefen rufe ich, Herr, zu dir, BWV 131

By J. S. Bach / Text from Psalm 130 / arr. Bach Gesellschaft Ausgabe Item: 36-A252802
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Aus der Tiefen rufe ich, Herr, zu dir (Out of the depths I call, Lord, to You), BWV 131, is among the earliest church cantatas composed by J.S. Bach. With the text based on Martin Luther's German version of Psalm 130 and the words of a chorale, the 5-movement cantata was commissioned by the minister of a church in Mühlhausen, which is where Bach lived at the time. The music integrates melodies from the chorale into the work and also illustrates Bach's continued interest in counterpoint. Movements: 1. Chorus: Aus der Tiefen rufe ich, Herr, zu dir (G minor), 2. Arioso and Chorale (soprano, bass): So du willst, Herr, Sünde zurechnen (G minor), 3. Chorus: Ich harre des Herrn, meine Seele harret (E? major-G minor), 4. Aria and Chorale (alto, tenor): Meine Seele wartet auf den Herrn von einer Morgenwache (C minor), 5. Chorale: Israel hoffe auf den Herrn; denn bei dem Herrn (G minor). Instrumentation in set: Str(2.2[altVa1].4[2Va1.2Va2].1.1[Continuo]): SATB VS/Chor/Hpschrd (available separately).

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Choral Library
Composed by: J. S. Bach
Arranged by: Bach Gesellschaft Ausgabe
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Cantata/ Oratorio, Orchestra Accompaniment
Item Number: 36-A252802
UPC: 735816107956

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept