Brahms: Hungarian Dances, Volume 1

Brahms: Hungarian Dances, Volume 1

By Johannes Brahms / ed. Carol Bell and Digby Bell Piano Duet (1 Piano, 4 Hands) Book Level: Late Intermediate / Early Advanced Item: 00-20847
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Brahms brilliantly captured the spontaneity and passion of Hungarian gypsy music in his 21 Hungarian Dances. In this volume containing the first 10 dances, editors Carol Ann Bell and Digby Bell have scrutinized all available autograph manuscripts of the duet, solo and orchestral versions and compared them with the earliest printed editions to produce the most scholarly, critical body of these works available today. Performance notes, helpful fingering suggestions, ornament realizations, and a wealth of historical background are provided. Hungarian Dances Nos. 5, 6, and 8 are Federation Festivals 2016-2020 selections.

Sample Pages


Brahms and the Duet
Hungarian Gypsy Music
Brahms and Hungarian Music
Sources Consulted
Editorial Considerations
About the Music
About Dances Nos. 1--10
HUNGARIAN DANCES, Volume I (Books 1 & 2)
No. 1 (G minor)
No. 2 (D minor)
No. 3 (F major)
No. 4 (F minor)
No. 5 (F-sharp minor)
No. 6 (D-flat major)
No. 7 (A major)
No. 8 (A minor)
No. 9 (E minor)
No. 10 (E major)

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Johannes Brahms
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 96
Item Number: 00-20847
ISBN 10: 0-7390-2736-0
ISBN 13: 978-0-7390-2736-3
UPC: 038081194325

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.