Blessed Are They

Blessed Are They
Flex Band

By Johannes Brahms / arr. Clarence Barber, Barbara Buehlan Flexible Band/String Ensemble Score & Parts Grade: 3 Item: 36-50130010

This item is temporarily out of stock

Notify Me When Available Add to List


Product Details


Johannes Brahms was not a religious man in the usual sense of the term, so it should be of no surprise that when he wrote the German Requiem; it did not follow the prescribed five movement form of the traditional requiem mass, but instead contained seven movements. The first time Brahms combined orchestra with chorus and soloists, it is considered to be his choral masterwork. While the style is unabashedly romantic with all the depth and beauty associated with the music of Brahms, the form is clearly influenced by Handel and reflects Brahms' intensive study of earlier masters. Blessed Are They is the sublime first movement of the German Requeim; and the original version pairs the chorus with the orchestra to create a heavy, somber mood. This skillfully crafted arrangement for flexible instrumentation, edited by Clarence Barber, makes this work playable by as few as five players up to large bands and orchestras, and everything in between. (5:00)

Sample Pages


Additional Information

Series: LudwigMasters - Concert Band - LudwigMasters
Composed by: Johannes Brahms
Arranged by: Clarence Barber, Barbara Buehlman
Ensemble: Concert Band
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrumentation: Flexible Instrumentation, Ensemble Works
Item Number: 36-50130010
UPC: 735816068479

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept