Beethoven: Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major, Opus 81a

Beethoven: Sonata No. 26 in E-flat Major, Opus 81a
"Das Lebewohl"

By Ludwig van Beethoven / ed. Stewart Gordon Piano Book Level: Early Advanced Item: 00-36282
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The three movements of Op. 81a are entitled "The Departure," "The Absence," and "The Return," dedicated to the Archduke Rudolf, an excellent pianist, friend, and patron of the composer. Rudolf's departure was part of an evacuation plan for Viennese aristocracy to escape the imminent occupation of Vienna by Napoleon's armies. An autograph of the first movement believed to have been presented to the Archduke Rudolf in 1809 is in the collection of the Gesellschaft der Musikfreunde in Vienna. Dr. Stewart Gordon's editions of Beethoven's most popular piano sonatas provide the key to a stylistic performance. Thorough research of the earliest available sources has enabled Dr. Gordon to produce the most accurate reflection of the composer's intent. Each sonata contains helpful fingering suggestions and performance recommendations.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Ludwig van Beethoven
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 28
Item Number: 00-36282
ISBN 10: 0-7390-7325-7
ISBN 13: 978-0-7390-7325-4
UPC: 038081402307

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept