Beethoven: Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Opus 53

Beethoven: Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Opus 53

By Ludwig van Beethoven / ed. Stewart Gordon Piano Book Level: Early Advanced Item: 00-27905
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


Count Ferdinand Ernest Gabriel von Waldstein, to whom the Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, is dedicated, was a longtime patron of the composer. Waldstein wrote to Beethoven, "May you receive the spirit of Mozart through the hands of Haydn." The opening theme of repeated chords begins the excitement found throughout this work. Dr. Stewart Gordon's editions of Beethoven's most popular piano sonatas provide the key to a stylistic performance. Thorough research of the earliest available sources has enabled Dr. Gordon to produce the most accurate reflection of the composer's intent. Each sonata contains helpful fingering suggestions and performance recommendations. Other editors' conclusions are noted where performance options are open to interpretation.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Composed by: Ludwig van Beethoven
Instrument: Piano
Format: Book
Page Count: 44
Item Number: 00-27905
ISBN 10: 0-7390-4682-9
ISBN 13: 978-0-7390-4682-1
UPC: 038081305264

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept