Lauren Bernofsky

Lauren Bernofsky

Hailed by Lukas Foss as “a master composer,” Lauren Bernofsky has written well over a hundred works, including solo, chamber, and choral music, as well as larger-scale works for orchestra, film, musical, opera, and ballet. With performances spanning the world, her music has been described as "a fantastic balance between the emotional and intellectual; technical and lyrical side of 21st Century composition."
Her Sonatine won the National Flute Association's Newly Published Music Competition, and her opera Mooch the Magnificent won the Opera Puppets Award at Boston Metro Opera. Bernofsky has received grants from The National Foundation for the Advancement of the Arts, The American Music Center, and The American Composers Forum. Her compositions have been commissioned by The Del Mar Trio, The Bloomington Symphony, The Holyoke Civic Symphony, The South Shore Conservatory, Sinfonia Calcania of Boston, The Harford Ballet, Reimagining Opera for Kids, Voces Novae, and numerous other ensembles and soloists.
Her string quartet Anacostia Journal was featured on the PBS program NOW with Bill Moyers, and her Concerto for Trumpet and Orchestra has been featured in the journal of the International Trumpet Guild and was the subject of a doctoral dissertation at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. As the winning entry of the Dalai Lama Composition Contest, Bernofsky’s choral work Prayer of Shantideva was premiered at a prayer service honoring the Dalai Lama of Tibet, who was in attendance and was said to be “enchanted” with the music.
She holds a Bachelor’s Degree in violin and composition from The Hartt School, a Master’s Degree in composition from the New England Conservatory, and a Doctorate of Musical Arts in composition from Boston University. She has served on the faculties of the Peabody Institute and Interlochen Center for the Arts. She gives clinics and guest conducts at national and international festivals such as the Spanish Brass Alzira festival (Alzira, Spain) and the Spivey Hall Honors Chamber Orchestra in Atlanta.
Bernofsky strives to capture the unique expressive potential of each instrument, an approach that has made her work popular with performers looking for new works to showcase their abilities. Her philosophy of composition is simple: music should be a joy both to play and to hear.
Her music has been performed across the United States as well as internationally at concerts, festivals, and conferences. She is published by Boosey & Hawkes, Theodore Presser, FJH, Hal Leonard, Grand Mesa, Carl Fischer, Balquhidder, Fatrock Ink, Wingert-Jones, and Alfred Music, and her music can be heard on the Albany, Polarfonia, Emeritus, Blue Griffin, Summit, and MSR Classics labels.


View All 
View All 

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List