Alessandro (1726), An Opera in Three Acts

Alessandro (1726), An Opera in Three Acts

By George Frideric Handel Vocal Comb Bound Miniature Score Item: 00-K01256
Add to Cart Add to List

Product Details


The composition of "Alessandro" was completed on April 11, 1726, and it was produced on May 5th in the same year at the Royal Academy of Music in the Haymarket. The words are by Paolo Rolli. At subsequent performances considerable abbreviations were made, especially in the recitatives and in the minor characters; Cleone and Leonato being entirely cut out. This is, as far as possible, indicated in this score. From the nature of the sources at our disposal, some small gaps and unevenness could not be avoided. The beautiful air in the Appendix was added later for Faustina; version A is extant in Handel's autograph, version B with the title in a printed copy of the year 1726.

Sample Pages

Additional Information

Series: Kalmus Edition
Composed by: George Frideric Handel
Instrument: Voice
Format: Comb Bound Miniature Score
Page Count: 140
Item Number: 00-K01256
ISBN 10: 0-7692-9746-3
ISBN 13: 978-0-7692-9746-0
UPC: 654979181019

Join Our Community

Join a community of music enthusiasts with a passion for music education.


Stay Updated

Want to get the latest updates and special offers from Alfred Music?

Join Our Email List


We use cookies to analyze site usage, enhance site usability, and assist in our marketing efforts. By continuing to use this site, you agree to our Cookies Policy, Privacy Policy, and Terms & Conditions.

I Accept