The Carolinas
By Dennis Alexander
Item: 00-33895
UPC: 038081375359
ISBN 10: 0739064347
ISBN 13: 9780739064344
PRICE: $4.50
Series: Recital Suite Series
Category: Piano Suite
Format: Sheet
Instrument: Piano
Level: Late Intermediate
Dennis Alexander's The Carolinas is a musical vision of North and South Carolina. The three movements represent distinct characteristics of these states. The suite begins with "Dogwoods in Bloom," a tribute to the state flower of North Carolina. This colorful movement recreates the sound of the red cardinal (North Carolina's state bird) on the piano, signaling the bloom of the beautiful dogwood blossoms. South Carolina is highlighted in the second movement, "Dancin' the Myrtle Beach Shag," a lively rendition of this famous dance style. Both states are featured in "Storm on the Carolina Coast." This final movement captures the power, fury and drama of an impending storm bearing down on the coasts of North and South Carolina.
Dogwoods in Bloom
Dancin' the Myrtle Beach Shag
Storm on the Carolina Coast