Scherzo, Opus 4
By Johannes Brahms / ed. Joseph Banowetz
Item: 00-32791
UPC: 038081356921
ISBN 10: 0739061232
ISBN 13: 9780739061237
PRICE: $5.95
Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Category: Piano Collection
Format: Book
Instrument: Piano
Level: Advanced
The earliest surviving original composition of Johannes Brahms, Scherzo, Op. 4 in E-flat minor, was composed in 1851 when Brahms was only 18 years old. This brilliant scherzo, with its two trios and a coda, remains one of Brahms’s larger solo piano works. Internationally renowned concert pianist Joseph Banowetz edited this work with a special insight as one of his teachers, Carl Friedberg, studied with Clara Schumann, a close friend of Brahms.