Scenes from the South
By Robert D. Vandall
Item: 00-32090
UPC: 038081352022
ISBN 10: 0739058819
ISBN 13: 9780739058817
PRICE: $4.99
Series: Recital Suite Series
Category: Piano Suite
Format: Sheet
Instrument: Piano
Level: Early Intermediate
Robert D. Vandall’s Scenes from the South travels to the southern states of Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and South Carolina in four distinct movements. The undulating eighth-note pattern in "Gulf Breezes" recreates the gentle breezes on the beaches that line the warm Gulf of Mexico. "Tupelo Rock and Roll" visits the birthplace of Elvis Presley with an upbeat rock and roll style. "Dreams of Home" is a wistful look back at the plantation lifestyle with remnants of the tune "Dixie" woven into the melody. The final movement, "Hattiesburg Toccata," is a rollicking tribute to the town of Hattiesburg, Mississippi, and to the Hattiesburg Piano Teacher League who commissioned this suite.
Gulf Breezes
Tupelo Rock and Roll
Dreams of Home
Hattiesburg Toccata