Menuetto (from Symphony No. 39)
By Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart / arr. Richard Meyer
Item: 00-20876
UPC: 038081220840
PRICE: No Longer Available
Series: Highland/Etling First Philharmonic
Category: Full Orchestra
Format: Conductor Score & Parts
Instrument: Full Orchestra
Level: 2
In the span of two months Mozart composed his last three and perhaps greatest symphonies. The first of these was Symphony No. 39, which has been described as one of the most cheerful and heartwarming symphonies ever written. The Menuetto from this work is a pristine example of classical three-part dance form. The main section is a rustic dance, while the contrasting Trio features a graceful pastoral melody introduced by the woodwinds. A wonderful way to introduce your young orchestra to symphonic form, this arrangement retains the delicate colors and textures of Mozart's original masterpiece. All string parts are in first position and clearly bowed with the young player in mind. The wind parts feature soli work for flute and clarinet. Parts for alto saxophone, bass clarinet, percussion, and piano are included.