Maestoso (from Tafelmusik Concerto)
By Georg Philipp Telemann / arr. David Marlatt
Item: 81-BQ9615
ISBN 10: 1554725917
ISBN 13: 9781554725915
PRICE: $15.00
Series: Eighth Note Publications
Category: Brass Ensemble - Quintet
Format: Score & Parts
Instrument: Brass Quintet
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet
Level: Medium-Difficult
Originally for 2 horns and strings, this arrangement now features the 2 trumpets with the remainder of the ensemble performing the string parts. The first trumpet part works best when played on E-flat trumpet to keep the lightness and grace in the writing and an agile trombone player is required to perform the arpeggiated string lines. The stately maestoso is an often performed work especially by period instrument ensembles and the fanfare-type figures lend themselves well to the brass quintet. At less than 3 minutes in length, this work is not too strenuous but is an interesting addition to the quintet repertoire.