First Book for Pianists
By Franz Joseph Haydn / ed. George Lucktenberg
Item: 00-1718
UPC: 038081035642
ISBN 10: 0739005898
ISBN 13: 9780739005897
PRICE: $6.99
Series: Alfred Masterwork Edition
Category: Piano Collection
Format: Book
Instrument: Piano
Level: Intermediate / Late Intermediate
Haydn was primarily responsible for shaping the Classical style of performance. During the 18th century, when composers focused mainly on the sonata, quartet and symphony, Haydn's slow-maturing genius assimilated and consolidated the trends into an individual style that was both inspired and disciplined. These eight pieces are among Haydn's easiest works and are presented in their unsimplified, original form. Based on careful study, the editorial markings are clearly distinguished from the composer's.
Allegro Moderato in C Major [Hob. XVI:7] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Andante in G Major [Hob. XVI:8] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Arietta and Variations in A Major [Hob. XVII:2] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Finale, from Sonata in A Major [Hob. XVI:12] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Menuet & Trio and Finale [Hob. XVI:26] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Minuet & Trio from Sonata in G Major [Hob. XVI:6] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Minuet & Trio in C [Hob. XVI:3] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)
Scherzo in F Major [Hob. XVI:9] Franz Joseph Haydn (composer)